Red Sea Road 

If I’m honest, the things that I find myself judging other people about are the very things that I dislike in myself. 

Here’s some people I judge: the Israelites. Hello whiny babies, you had food literally dropped from heaven, your clothes never wore out, and yet you took every opportunity to complain, try to worship idols, and the list goes on and on. 

But I’m just like them. I’m a whiny baby. I complain about my “tough” middle class American life, I try to find comfort in every thing imaginable before I find comfort in God. 

Today, I relate to them even more. That time when they were being chased by Pharoah’s army, and they are smack against the shore of the Red Sea. The Red Sea is roughly the size of New York State. Um. It’s looking pretty grim here Moses. And then the Red Sea parts and they walk across on dry land. And they make it safely to the other side while the Sea crashes on Pharaoh’s army. 

Our family is facing our own Red Sea Road. On April 22nd our lives shifted into a new season. Our precious Charlie has stage 3 cancer. Rhabdomyosarcoma. A tumor in his abdomen that will require 40 weeks of chemo treatment. 40. The significance of that number is not lost on me. 
There’s no going back to before the diagnosis. And what’s in front of us is scary and unknown. I have a lot of fears and doubts. There are thoughts that I dare not say out loud because I can hardly bear to think them, let alone speak them. 

But God. Here in the dark, hard season… He is here. He is our strength, our comfort, our song. He gives grace and mercy and strength for each day. We are clinging to Him and His word as we face our Red Sea Road. 

Red Sea Road by Ellie Holcomb

8 thoughts on “Red Sea Road 

  1. Chelsea says:

    We love you Jenn, Charlie and your whole family. We will love you through even season of life whether easy or hard. We continue to life Charlie up in prayer.

  2. Chelsea says:

    We love you Jenn, Charlie and your whole family. We will love you through every season of life whether easy or hard. We continue to lift Charlie up in prayer.

  3. Sally says:

    He holds you up as we lift you all up before Him, our Mighty Lord, Savior and healer! We lift each of you up again and again and again! With love ❤️

  4. Glory says:

    Thank you for your willingness to bare your soul and take us on this faith journey with you. You are love and being surrounded by a wall of prayer.

  5. Patty Lueken says:

    Keep clinging to the One Who loves You more and is doing so much more than you can see in the hearts of many. Praying for His grace to pour to you and through you and for Him to carry you!!

  6. sherie says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart Jenn. Continued prayers for strength and peace and faith on this journey, knowing you will touch many lives along the way. Much love.

Leave a comment