I lied that I liked cooking….

I lied that I liked cooking, when Ben was just this cute guy that I wanted to think I was pretty, witty and all the things. When he mentioned that he really liked cooking, I casually lied, and said, “oh, me too.” If my mother had heard me say this, she would have fainted. When I went off to college I think I had mastered mac n cheese and microwave oatmeal. Ben wasn’t looking for a girl to cook him three meals a day, he genuinely liked cooking and just wondered if I did as well. The true answer then: I make a mean bowl of Ramen noodles. He should have run for the hills.

It’s taken me a few years, and some trial and error along the way, but now, I do like cooking. I like baking too, but I like EATING that WAY TOO MUCH. So, baking is limited.

I’m like every other woman in America who wonders what to make for dinner each night, and we have the added fun of needing gluten-free, dairy free, and only grass-fed meat meals. So, there’s all that added DRAMA.

But, I have found a few recipes that we enjoy, and I thought I’d share them, because I love knowing what other people eat for dinner, and maybe you do too:)

Today’s Dinner: Originally Titled “Healthy Mama Barbecue Chicken”

I call it Delicious, but it doesn’t take like BBQ at all.

(I tried to link the original website that posted this recipe, but apparently it no longer exists)

It was in a in a post titled, “12 crock pot meals you can prep at once’. I’m sure this is a very successful and time-saving activity. I’ve yet to get my act together to prep meals long enough for them to be in the freezer prior to needing them ASAP.

Ingredients
3 medium unpeeled sweet potatoes – cut into 1/2 inch pieces

2 large green peppers cut into strips

2 large red peppers cut into strips

1 zucchini chopped

1 medium onion sliced

1 tablespoon quick cooking tapioca (sometimes I have this, sometimes I don’t, no big deal)

4 chicken breasts

1 jar of tomato sauce If you love yourself and your family you will get this sauce:

Do not but this full price, it’s CRAZY expensive, but wait til your local store has it on sale, and stock up! You will love it on pasta, but it really makes this dish fabulous!

2 tablespoons brown Sugar (Organic Evaporated Cane Juice if you’re fancy)

1 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce (Lea and Perrins is Gluten Free)

1 Tablespoon yellow mustard (powder or actual mustard, either one works)

1 clove of garlic minced

Salt and Pepper to taste

Throw it all in the crock pot. Turn it on low for 6-8 hours. Or high for 4-6 hours. The chicken should shred nicely when it’s done. Enjoy as is, or over rice.

Here’s the link to my pinterest board: Foodie Love for more recipes!

3 thoughts on “I lied that I liked cooking….

Leave a Reply

